12 Step Planet: Lebanon

Beautiful Lebanon (copyright Monica Heck)

Beautiful Lebanon (copyright Monica Heck)

In April 2010 I travelled to Lebanon in what was a life-changing trip for many reasons. It came at a particularly good time, when I needed a break from Ireland and my life there. I boarded a plane, switched off my phone and jumped into what was to become the most treasured adventure I’ve ever had.

I was lucky enough to be hosted by some of the nicest people on earth, my friend Michele and her wonderful mother Fadia and was welcomed with open arms by family and friends throughout Easter week. I saw the sights and hung out in the sun, went out at night and sampled the crazy nightlife of Beirut.

The food, the climate, the people bowled me over and I started missing it as soon as I boarded the plane to leave. On that particular trip, I went on to have more adventures over the Atlantic because of the Eyjafjallajokull ash cloud but that is another story…. I have missed Lebanon ever since and fully intend on going back as soon as funds allow it.

I was delighted to be afforded the opportunity to talk about Lebanon in the 12 Step Planet section of Hot Press (Volume 36 Issue 15 August 8 2012). I hope it inspired people to visit this fantastic country.

Lebanon

Lebanon

Lebanon2

Lebanon2

Baalbek - gigantic ruins

Baalbek – gigantic ruins

Temple of Bacchus Baalbek

Temple of Bacchus Baalbek

Lebanese Birthday Easter Desserts

Lebanese Birthday Easter Desserts

Harissa Hill cable car

Harissa Hill cable car

About monicaheck
Monica Heck is a bilingual freelance writer and journalist based in Dublin, Ireland.

Comment on this article

