Farewell Maeve Binchy

It’s with great sadness that I learned of the passing of one of my favourite authors, the wonderful Maeve Binchy with the pen of gold. Her ability to capture the quirkiness of humans remained untouched by anyone who ever tried to follow in her footsteps.

Educated in French but fluent in spoken English, I learned how to read and write in English by devouring any book I could put my hands on, which meant a lot of Enid Blyton and Maeve Binchy. Light A Penny Candle was and remains one of my favourite books of all times. I read it as a child, under the covers with a torch as I just couldn’t put it down.

Here at home, I have a Maeve Binchy shelf, which anyone who has visited my home can confirm – and that shelf is not to be messed with! Always first into the boxes and first out of them, my books are precious and Maeve’s now even more so.

I truly regret never plucking up the courage to ask her for an interview. It’s the end of an era and it truly feels like a door is closing.

Farewell Maeve and thank you.

About monicaheck
Monica Heck is a bilingual freelance writer and journalist based in Dublin, Ireland.

Comment on this article

