Pyro, Dublin and the Cold Winter Sea

I have not had time to paint since I started studying in September and I miss the whole process. But it seems my brain is still linking pictures, colours and textures.

I was driving across Dublin this week on a dark grey windy morning just after the rush hour traffic had died down. I was running my to do list in my head, keeping an eye on the road and playing around with the radio to find a tune that sat right with me for a few minutes.

That part is essential to a good commute in my opinion. And the iPod is just not the same, what I love is the Russian roulette of music radio when you just don’t know when you’re going to get next… on a bad day you get a never ending run of Rihanna, the Saturdays and whatever other old factory-assembled mix of plastic beats and empty lyrics that passes for pop nowadays. On all channels, no escape! On a good day however you can skip from Nirvana to the Pixies with a little bit of Talking Heads thrown in and the joys of such a line-up combined with a run of green lights is something you have to experience!

Back to Wednesday morning when I was sitting in the middle of the Harp Bridge (officially known as the Samuel Beckett Bridge). The views from that bridge are amazing, on the left you can see all the way to the Four Courts and on the right you see the docks as the Liffey winds its way to the sea. The sky was a dark steel grey, with various shades of lighter greys as clouds hung heavily towards the water. The Liffey was reflecting the steel, the choppy heads of the waves cutting like white knives as the wind whistled through the chords of the Harp and the seagulls cried and swooped in the cold air.

And as I looked past the docks to the open sea and the world beyond, the first bars of Pyro by Kings of Leon rose from the speakers. And it hit me that I was sitting in a tiny warm bubble balancing on steel hanging across the waters, on an Island lost in the cold waters of North West Europe. I was heading North but if I decided to head East and sail out on one of those cargo ships, then it would feel like like Pyro sounded just then. Soaring and haunting, full of fear and the hope of survival.

About monicaheck
Monica Heck is a bilingual freelance writer and journalist based in Dublin, Ireland.

One Response to Pyro, Dublin and the Cold Winter Sea

  1. tony says:

    Great post I Love internet Roulette , cheers from Holland

Comment on this article

