Eyjafjallajokul

Yes, that’s it’s name… the volcano that kept me stuck on the wrong side of the ocean for a week! I was in the US with work when it decided to get angry and ground us all on foreign lands!

There was a large number of us from my company in that position and the idea of a blog sprang to mind to keep spirits up and keep track of each other, so the marketing team promptly set one up and started writing in it… surprisingly (or not) the only people who ended up contributing to it were the stranded Irish (three of us to be precise, with 2 thirds of us being female but gender has nothing to do with it since the male contributor was almost as volubile as me as he went on an incredible road trip from Vegas to Denver over the Rio Grande… I say almost because my advantage as a woman is that I can multitask tee hee…!).

Anyway, instead of letting my texts disappear into the memories of time and the internet, I am going to repost them on this blog so I have a trace of that strange and random experience! So the next bunch of posts are volcano-related and also in English.

Enjoy!

About monicaheck
Monica Heck is a bilingual freelance writer and journalist based in Dublin, Ireland.

Comment on this article

